top of page
Search

Think About The Way: The Story Behind Ice MC's Biggest Hit



I have to admit, I think there is nothing quite as cute as little hands in tiny mittens, but finding the right little mittens for toddlers can feel like an epic quest. When my oldest child was a toddler I remember being surprised by the array of option. I assumed I would go to the store and pick out any pair of cute mittens and that would be that. How hard could it be? (Did I mention I grew up in the desert?)


Clearly, I had a thing or two to learn about cold-weather gear! There are a variety of things to consider when buying mittens for small people: How easy will they be to get on and off? Will they stay on (nothing is worse than getting your child all ready to play in the snow only to have them come in five minutes later because their little fingers are painfully cold)? Do they just need to be warm or do they also need to be waterproof?




ice mc think about the way zippy




Mac Salad (also called Macaroni Salad or Hawaiian Macaroni Salad*) is a popular side dish that we love to make at home. Learn about what makes Hawaii's mac salad unique, find the best place to eat mac salad in Hawaii, and get the recipe!


Outside of Hawaii, this dish is often called "Hawaiian macaroni salad." That is incorrect because this is a local dish and not a Hawaiian dish. Mac salad is from Hawaii, but that doesn't automatically make it Hawaiian food. Learn more about the difference here.


The funny thing is, I don't enjoy eating mac salad on the mainland. But there's something about local mac salad...it's not just the dish itself, but what it's served with, the atmosphere, and your surroundings, that make eating mac salad in Hawaii feel so right.


I was born and raised in Ewa Beach, since living on the main land for the past 20 years I have been craving real Hawaiian macaroni salad. Forgive me that I didnt make this recipe, Im sure its wonderful, but this is absolutely not the characteristic of the Hawaiian macaroni salad I grew up with on the Islands in the 70s, 80s and 90's. It was *NEVER* tangy, that is what made it distinct from the traditional macaroni salads on the main land. NO vinegar, just sugar and thats it. No pineapple, no spam was ever in it either which I see a lot of online. Grated carrots, and sometimes celerey was all that went in it. Maybe onions. No japanese grandma ever brought a tangy, vinegary Macaroni salad to a pot luck. Case and point, its supposed to be made with Kewpie salad dressing which is a Japanese mayo that used to be very popular in Hawaii and was likely the original mayo used to popularize this recipe. Its sweeter and creamier. I think the internet has really destroyed the tradition of this recipe so sad to see it made this way on an alleged loco website. Aloha.


It is simply a folk-rock record in an electronic age. Unsentimental. Impressionistic. Songs about close family and strangers, resilience and hope. All set in vivid landscapes where the outside comes inside and clings to the stories.


I was looking for something special as our 50th twelve-inch release on Buzzin' Fly. I was struggling to come up with something when Martin Stimming sent me a demo and asked my opinion. It was the basis of what was to become 'Bright Star'. I loved the mood and immediately began thinking about a vocal line for it. He said a voice would be great and I ended up writing the words and asking Julia Biel, who had recently sung on 'Guinea Pig', to sing them. Martin finished the music for what we ended up calling the Sunset Mix but was struggling for an alternative darker version. I suggested he played Julia's voice back through a telephone receiver to make it more remote and easier to fit sonically in a fatter mix. The result was the Sunrise Mix, a perfect 5am dancefloor track as far as I'm concerned. Martin must take all the credit for the production on this record; I was just a pair of ears and the lyricist. The artwork is a total triumph. We pressed the record on heavyweight vinyl, and John Gilsenan at iwantdesign produced a glorious deluxe gatefold sleeve with expensive gold-foil blocking, printed lyrics and a pull-out poster.


I loved the two singles released from this debut album by Australia's Empire of The Sun and I asked if I could remix one of them. I was a resident at We Love at Space on Sundays in Ibiza at the time and could picture a mix of trippy latin techno and reedy vocals working on the dancefloor. In the end I think the ingredients are right but the track gallops a bit too much and almost overtakes the song. Tommy Cooper used to tell a joke about riding on an over-enthusiastic horse that gets its back leg caught in the stirrup, and he says, 'If you want to get on, I'll get off.' I think of it when I hear this mix now.


Don't you think I'm so strongI can only take the pressure for so longTake your hang-ups and your prideAnd lock them all outsideBecause love is in the detailThe little things that my heart never fails to detectLike loneliness and regretWhat's keeping you from coming home?Every night, every day, what else can I say but 'Come home'?


'I'm sick of ironic disco and I'm sick of mindless funky house. House music was always about a feeling with a meaning. That is what I was searching for on this mix.' I wrote those words when this compilation was released in 2005. A big heartfelt statement indeed. Certainly the lyrical flow, telling stories with words as well as with music, was important when I made this mix. I'd been listening to early DJs like Larry Levan and was tired of compilations that seemed only to want to latest upfront instrumental cuts. I'd recently written 'Pop a Cap in Yo' Ass' and used it, and other fragments of spoken word from my unfinished Outspoken project across the mix. I also added a previously unreleased remix I had made for Unity.


'Outspoken' was a project I began in 2002 but could never finish. It signalled my return to an interest in words again. I started by writing several short stories in the form of a prose lyric and started creating backing tracks for them, while hunting for interesting voices to read them. There are unfinished tracks I began with artists like Robert Forster of Brisbane's The Go-Betweens, and Brixton poet, Malika Booker. Of the tracks that got completed, these are two I was happiest with. I wrote 'Pop a Cap in Yo' Ass' after reading a news story about a boy converting an air pistol into a lethal weapon on a housing estate in Camden where I once spent some time in the early eighties in a friend's flat. It tells the story of a girl reminiscing about an old boyfriend, Mikey, and their days shoplifting. When it came to the recording, Estelle was just beginning to make her name as an MC and singer on the London scene, and I asked her to read it for me. I wanted the music to have an old-school flavour, the kind of music the girl might have reminisced about too. Early house music.


'Attack, Attack, Attack' is about a father-son relationship. I was sharing a DJ residency with Pete Adarkwah from BBE Records at the time, and he suggested Baby Blak as a good person to approach to read it. We never met. I sent the words to Philadelphia and he sent back the recordings. I love his performance. I edited it slightly and set it to music - a deep warm but urgent house track.


I have always loved the gentle but tense harmonies of Mimi and Alan in Duluth band, Low. They are perhaps the least likely band you'd hear on a club mix, but after hearing 'Tonight' on their sixth album, 'Trust', I asked if I could remix it, and put Mimi's voice out there on the dancefloor in front of a new crowd. They were very open to the idea. On reflection I think I made the mix too smooth, and ironed out too much of the track's plaintive strength but her voice still gets me.


I have mixed feelings about this remix. I felt under pressure as Defected were after something as big as the Lazy Dog mixes, but I also felt I'd perhaps rinsed that sound out by the time I embarked on it. I invited Steve Pearce to play bass, and Dick Pearce adds one a classic melancholy trumpet solo, but somehow the track lacks a vital cutting edge, and I could never put my finger on why. Sandy Rivera was also putting out some killer tracks at the time, first at KOT and then on his own, and perhaps I just tried too hard. It happens. 2ff7e9595c


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page